Subscribe to South Asia Citizens Wire | feeds from | @sacw
Home > National Interest vs People’s Interest : A space for social movements > India: Join the Citizens Initiative for Peace Public meeting on 20 October (...)

India: Join the Citizens Initiative for Peace Public meeting on 20 October 2009

by Citizens Initiative for Peace, 15 October 2009

print version of this article print version

Citizens Initiative for Peace

New Delhi, 11th October 2009

Subject: Appeal to join public meeting on October 20th at Constitution Club, Speakers Hall 4 – 7 pm.

As you are aware, armed conflict between the Government and Maoists is reaching dangerous proportions in several parts of the country. In these conditions, the real issues that concern the people are relegated to the background- such as food security, land and forest rights, education, health and justice besides their multi-faceted exploitation. Citizens outside the affected areas are denied access to the region as a result of which no true picture about the plight of the local population is available. These need to be immediately addressed, which is only possible under conditions of peace and justice.

We are writing to invite you to participate in a public meeting on 20th October 2009 at the Speakers Hall, Constitution Club, New Delhi, from 4-7 pm. We are inviting representatives from different states and different political parties, as well as a wide cross-spectrum of people to provide their perspective on this issue, and help to chart a way forward.

Our demands are simple and urgent and Government must initiate the process

1. Cessation of hostilities as well as end to killings by both Government and CPI (Maoist)

2. Dialogue between Government and CPI (Maoist)

3. Free access to affected areas for independent civil organizations and media

4. Addressing of people’s basic livelihood needs.

Please block October 20th for this important meeting and strengthen the Citizens Initiative for Peace.

Yours sincerely,

(on behalf of)

Citizens Initiative for Peace

Post Box No.- 3811 Andrews Ganj Post Office New Delhi 110049.

Email- peacecitizens(at)

Members of the Citizens Initiative for Peace include:

Rabi Ray, Rajindar Sachar, PB Sawant, Mahasweta Devi, Ajit Bhattacharjea, Kuldeep Nayar, Prabhash Joshi, D. Bandyopadhyay, B.D. Sharma, S R Sankaran, KB Saxena, Binayak Sen, Amit Bhaduri, Randhir Singh, Prabhash Joshi, Medha Patkar, Aruna Roy, Sumit Chakravartty, Saraswati Swain, Teesta Setalvad, Manoranjan Mohanty, Ramachandra Guha, Sandeep Pandey, G Haragopal, Harsh Mander, Rabinder Nath Sahoo, D Narasimha Reddy, Shabnam Hashmi, SC Behar, Harivansh, Himanshu Kumar, Praful Samantara, Pushkar Raj, Kavita Srivastava, Madhu Sarin, Nandini Sundar, Ravi Hemadri, S.R. Darapuri, Sudhir Pattnaik, Suhas Borkar, Satya Sivaraman, Apoorvanand, Ajay Dandekar, and many others.